Nez Perce

Parenthood is a constant reminder in wonder. Not a day goes by that I am not amazed at the things my kids say or do. The ordinary is extraordinary. The colors are more vivid. The world is unfolding for them. And again for me.
Here was one such day. L. found an army of ants. We followed where they were heading. The hole / cave was so perfect, feather and all. That moment so true.

My little farmer (who still allows me to put overalls on him) decided the celery needed watering. I snuck this shot.

All hell broke loose when I interrupted the boys’ making something secret for me. J was assisting L in his quest and he was beside himself mad that I could see. And so I left, but not before catching that face.

J continued to learn about the food of the Nez Perce Indians and dug up bulbs just like they did. He then later ground the bulbs with mortise and pestle, quickly to learn how much work goes into a little bit of food.

J got enthusiastically got started on the house building of the Nez Perce, the teepee. We hit our favorite leather shop for scraps and got things rolling. The boys gathered oak branches for the poles.

The cornhusk dolls came out and J. made some leather clothing for them, just like the Nez Perce ~ something I had not at all anticipated.

Leave a Reply

